KSEA News and Events

KSEA News and Events

2016 KSEA Young Investigator Grant Winner Announcement

Page info

author admin date16-04-29 17:42 hit2,046 comment0


KSEA is pleased to announce that Prof. Seung Woo Lee at Georgia Institute of Technology has been selected as the finalist of the 2016 Young Investigator Grant (YIG).  He will be awarded a $10,000 grant during UKC2016 which will be held in Dallas on Aug 10-13, 2016.  The evaluation was conducted by the Honors and Awards Committee (HAC) with the help of several Technical Group Councilors and senior members.  In accordance with Policy 11, Article 5, the HAC submitted the selected candidate to the President and the Council. The Council subsequently approved the recommended winner on April 18, 2016.  It is noted that the HAC made a tough decision of recommending only one finalist out of the two possible ones (one in science and the other in engineering) after an in-depth evaluation and discussion on the basis of the internal standard.  The profile of Prof. Lee is as follows:

2016 Young Investigator Grant Winner


Dr. Seung Woo Lee
Assistant Professor
George W. Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering
Georgia Institute of Technology

Dr. Seung Woo Lee is an assistant professor at George W. Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering of Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Georgia. He received his B.S. (summa cum laude) in chemical engineering from SNU in 2004 and Ph.D. in chemical engineering from MIT in 2010. Prior to joining Georgia Institute of Technology in 2013, he was a post-doctoral researcher at MIT. He is a recipient of 2016 Hanwha Advanced Materials Non-Tenure Faculty Award and 2014 Samsung Global Research Outreach Award. He has published 29 articles in coveted journals and presented 20 papers in conferences, and he also has an excellent citation record as a young investigator. With the YIG, Prof. Lee will mainly investigate nano-structured organic electrodes for electrochemical energy storage devices. The proposed work aims to improve the cycling stability and the power capability of advanced batteries without sacrificing the energy density by the development of organic electrodes. The proposed organic electrodes will be based on nanocomposite structures where redox-active molecules are conformally coated on the conductive matrix mediated by the interactions of surface functionalities between molecules and conductive substrate.



Comment List

No comments